Tekken 5- Falling Back in Love

15 11 2009

For the 10th anniversary of the Tekken game series, Tekken five was introduced in 2005 for the Play Station game console. Growing up I always played video games. My family has owned many systems including the Nintendo Entertainment System, Super Nintendo, Sega Genesis, Sega Dreamcast, Nintendo 64 and Xbox 360. However, as the years have passed my love for video games has been slowly fading. On November 11, 2009 I decided to give my past love another try. My choice of weaponry for this special occasion—Play Station and Tekken 5 was the game I selected as my guide. For my reintroduction to fighting games that I seemed to have traded for the stereotypical “girly game,” that feature bright-colored, and good characterization, such as the popular Mario series, I decided Tekken 5 would be the best choice.

Although I had never played Tekken 5 before I quickly managed to catch on quickly winning a number of matches against my opponent player. It would be unfair of me to say that I mastered the game on my first try, however it is more than fitting to pat myself on the shoulder with the five wins that I managed to accomplish after teaching myself how to play the game. I learned how to play through trial and error quickly pressing buttons and learning moves, such as my specialty repetitious kick.

There are many game systems available out there now that at first it was odd that there were still Play Station 2’s being utilized in the world. While the owner of the game system would prefer to own an Xbox 360 the current economic situation has prevented him from upgrading. The Play Station 2 has been with him since he was 14 and with it still being in working condition he saw no reason to invest money into another system. With the game being around for such a long time, the owner of the system has had plenty of time to learn the narrative of the game and master the movies of nearly all the characters.

The narrative of the game revolves around the character, Jin who is goes through stages and settings battling different people until he finally comes in contact with his devil-powered great-grandfather. If Jin defeats his great-grandfather he is rewarded with the ultimate prize, which will make him the owner of Mishima Zaibatsu. It is great to have a story line like this is fighting games to encourage the players to be engaged in the game and continue to invest time into playing a game that would otherwise seem redundant.

Video Games has the ability to bring people together and engage them in a single action. When people play video games, they laugh, they get excited and they sometimes even get upset. Whatever action a gaming situation may compel people to have-the important thing is that they are brought together.

Would I play Tekken 5 again…..OF COURSE, as a matter of fact I’m going to go play it now.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

